Weak Potato Harvest in 2012

The white potato plants (the part above-ground) died back early this year, so I was forced to harvest whatever was down there.  I ended up with about  twice as much weight in harvested potatoes as I used for seed potatoes.  Meh.

I definitely have a lot to learn about growing white potatoes, but I can blame the drought this year.

8 responses to this post.

  1. I’m having potato issues too. It may be the drought and heat, although goodness knows the bed has been receiving lots of water. I do notice that I have a problem with the tiny black ants, who seem to think there is nothing quite so convenient as living IN your food supply. I think that possibly all the formic acid and ant activity may be having a detrimental effect on the potatoes. I’m not exactly sure what to do about it. I am going to try spreading diatomaceous earth, and I also may put out boric acid bait traps.

    Reply

  2. I have never been brave enough to attempt potatoes personally, I give you a lot of credit. From what I have heard commonly from other gardeners here in Mass, is most are not pleased with the qty at harvest.

    I tried carrots once and had issues with little black ants, I was lucky to get a dozen edible carrots before giving up! Since then I’ve been intimidated to try them again or even think of attempting potatoes. The only roots vegetables I will plant at this point, so far anyways, are onions and radish. Luckily I seem to do ok with these.

    Reply

    • The potatoes will be something that I try again, but maybe not next year. I need to keep things changing.

      My carrots gave me trouble this year, but I’ll do a whole post about that later.

      Reply

  3. Never thought to plant potatoes before. I figured they would be easy but everyone I know says they can be tricky.

    Reply

  4. I love growing potatoes! It’s like opening a present, you never know what you’re getting! :) But this year my potatoes have been less yield for sure because of the heat and drought.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

