Beets Harvested and Canned 2012

I harvested my beets a few days ago.  I didn’t get any pictures of them with their tops still attached, but they filled two half-bushel baskets.  I planted six 8-foot rows, and my root harvest is shown below.

Cut off the tops!  Eat them if you like greens.

Wash off the dirt!

Put the washed beets in a pot (or two) and boil them for about 20 minutes to make the skin really lose and easy to peel.

The skin will slip right off, along with the stem stubs.

Peeling in a messy step.

Get your recipe book and spices together!

Combine the beets with the vinegar, sugar, spices, whatever is in your canning recipe and boil them again.

Get your canning jars and lids simmering, and then fill the jars with the hot beet mixture.

Process your beets for 20 minutes (for pints) in a boiling water bath.

From six 8-foot rows of beet seeds I canned 1 gallon of beet roots.

The last time I canned beets I skimmed off the spices. This time I canned the spices into the jar. I want to see which way I like better. I keep notes in my cook books.

16 responses to this post.

  1. I have always peeled beets with a knife. Your method looks easier.

    Reply

  2. Awesome job! Don’t forget that once you decide on which batch you prefer, you can always recycle the other batch into pickled eggs!

    Reply

  3. Canning beets looks to be a very messy job. They look so pretty in the jars though.

    Reply

  4. Beets are so pretty! I love Mrs. Wages’ canning spices!

    Reply

  5. They look great! I have always wanted to grow enough of them to can my own, but have never managed to do it. I broke down just a few weeks ago and bought pounds of them at the Farmers’ Market so I could pickle my own. Kudos!

    Reply

  6. Posted by Christie on June 24, 2012 at 5:36 pm

    That cookbook page looks VERY familiar – I just pickled my own (very small) batch of beets a couple of weeks ago using the Ball cookbook recipe. SO DELICIOUS. What a great harvest!

    Reply

  7. Great job. I love beets. We have not yet grown enough to can but it is one of my longer term goals. Maybe next season.

    Reply

  8. Very informative, have you thought about writing a book?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

