Green Cabin Tomatoes Mid-June 2012

Above is the flower from an open-pollinated heirloom variety of tomato that I have grown every year since 2009.  “Cabin” was the name on the list I chose from at Wintersown.org.  This tomato was listed as RARE on their listing that year and has been absent from the list ever since.  It’s by-far my favorite tomato and it’s a personal project to continue this fruit, as I could be literally the only person growing it anywhere right now.

Cabin tomato has shown itself to be resistant to the blights that my tomatoes end up getting eventually during most growing seasons.  Where my other plants have already died in August or September, Cabin has continued to grow until first frost around Halloween.  Cabin provided me with a red tomato (picked green) on Thanksgiving one year.  That’s pretty good for Illinois.

The green tomatoes shown in this post should ripen to a nice dark pink tone within 2 weeks.  They are usually 3 to 8 ounces, with the average more towards 4 ounces.

Many of my Cabin tomato flowers were multi-blossoms this year, so I might get a couple of fused fruit that are larger than normal.  As you probably saw from the photos, Cabin is a potato-leaf type tomato.  Oh, taste!  Cabin is excellent eating.  It’s meaty, average in acidity and works equally well for eating raw or cooking into sauces.

Finally, I don’t want to be the only grower saving seeds for this tomato.  If you are interested in also growing Cabin next year, and will save seeds from it to keep this heirloom around for the future, please let me know.  If you have trouble with blights and want a plant that will grow along while others struggle in the same spot, please consider Cabin.

41 responses to this post.

  1. Just the other day I noticed that the first blossoms on a couple of my tomatoes were multi-blossoms. I had never seen that before. Now I know what the deal is with them!

    You might want to contact Seed Saver’s Exchange to see if they have this tomato. If not, they may want to add it to their seed bank.

    Reply

    • Kate, you aren’t the first person to suggest SSE to me. I need to call them to see what needs to be done to donate my variety. I am very interested in getting my seeds “out there,” but if it is required that I pay $40 for an annual membership to their group, I feel there more I could do with that kind of money…such as send out seeds to 60 or 80 people in envelopes with 50 cents worth of postage on each one.

      Reply

      • I just looked it up in the SSE yearbook, and two members have listed it. So you’re not the only one growing it, but it must be pretty rare. It sounds like a great tomato, and I’d love to try help keep the variety going if you have extra seeds to share!

        Reply

  2. Cabin sounds lovely! Funny – the best performing heirloom in our garden is a potato leaf as well. Save some seeds for us?

    Reply

  3. Posted by thebeadden on June 18, 2012 at 5:08 pm

    Count me in and thank you! If there is anything you see in our garden this year, say the word.

    Reply

  4. Thanks for your kind offer. I would love to try out Cabin in northern New England. I am trying an heirloom tomato called Tennessee Sweet that my mom’s 90-something-year-old neighbor gave to us – so far they are doing okay. I think that it’s really important and fun to grow uncommon varieties.

    Reply

  5. Your tomatoes look great! I, too, would love to try those beauties here in California. I have a whole community of gardeners that I could disperse the seeds to in the coming years. How exciting!

    Reply

  6. Posted by Ida Hunt on June 20, 2012 at 8:50 am

    I, too, would love to get a few of your Cabin tomato seeds. Thank you in advance for sharing with us.

    Reply

  7. Posted by Ashley on June 25, 2012 at 9:39 am

    I see that you will be contacting soon by email. Add me to the list please sir. The heirlooms I selected this year are not very productive. Every pest and disease in the garden flock to it – the poor thing.

    Reply

  8. Posted by Courtney on June 30, 2012 at 12:08 am

    Please add me to the list as well! We’re planning to expand our tomato growing next year (we’ve got about 50 plants this year!) and I’d love a new type to try. :)

    Reply

    • No problem! The more the merrier. I’m so excited to have a whole group of people growing this variety next year! I hope everyone can stop back by next June and July with pictures.

      Reply

  9. […] I have ever grown, so I must have found the optimal location in my yard for them this year.  The Cabin tomato plants (on each end) have some fruit that seems to be in the 8 to 10 ounce range, and I’ve never gotten bigger […]

    Reply

  10. […] even see the squash bug in person. I only noticed him in iPhoto.  This is a Cabin plant.  I’ll be saving a whole bunch of seeds soon. Rate this:Share this:PinterestFacebookEmailPrintLike this:LikeBe the first to like […]

    Reply

  11. […] 4 of the 8 people who said that they wanted to grow Cabin tomatoes next year have sent me their mailing address.  If you are interesting in growing Cabin and you didn’t […]

    Reply

  12. Posted by Amideutch on December 27, 2012 at 6:20 am

    Hello from Germany, Cabin tomato definitely looks like a winner. I would like to grow and help perpetuate this variety. The only listing in SSE is the Cabin RL variety. If you have seed I would like to give it a try here in Germany. Ami

    Reply

  13. Hi,

    I would love to try out this Cabin tomato in Romania. Please let me know if it is possible. Advanced thanks for your time and attention. Val

    Reply

  14. Posted by Elise Vaughn on January 18, 2013 at 3:18 am

    If you still have the “Cabin” seeds available please e-mail me and let me know, I would love to have a few! If not please let me know either way! :) Happy gardening! Elise Vaughn

    Reply

  15. […] also be saving tomato seeds, Cabin in particular. This variety was given to me by another blogger, Jimmy Cracked Corn, with the hopes that the people who received them would spread the seeds around. And, that I will […]

    Reply

  16. […] a give a special shout out to Jimmy Cracked Corn, a fellow blogger, and seed lover, who sent me some Cabin tomato seeds he saved from his tomatoes last season. Apparently, Cabin tomatoes are a rare, almost extinct, […]

    Reply

  17. Posted by windy on March 28, 2013 at 9:07 am

    I can’t find an email addy for you– to send you a mailing address for seeds.

    Reply

  18. Posted by claudia flaiz on April 29, 2013 at 5:18 pm

    i realize it’s a bit late to be asking, but i would love to grow some cabin tomatoes. also, i received tomatoes (that were identified as heirloom and delicious) from an elderly relative a few years ago who lives in southern california. i’m in the NW. the fruit from the seeds i saved and planted the following year was wonderful, but ripened so late that most froze. also, is there a way to identify a tomato? the ones i had were said to have been brought over from poland ( or “someplace” ) by family decades ago. thanks.

    Reply

  19. […] Jimmy Cracked Corn was kind enough to send us some of his Heirloom Cabin Tomato Seeds. We planted ten seeds in the green house. Six succeeded. They didn’t seem to grow very fast. All we could do was cross our fingers and hope for the best. The cold weather seemed to linger on this year. It felt like a lifetime before we could start our gardens. This year has been such a blur, I can’t even remember the dates we planted. […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

