Cucumbers started late in 2012

An experiment that ended up happening this year was to start cucumbers from seed outdoors in late May instead of early May. When I read what I just wrote it just sounds like no big deal…a couple weeks difference…”so what?”, right?

Well, it has me nervous because by this date I usually have fruit set and instead I have baby plants that haven’t even reached the trellis yet.

I’m also trying a row of bush-type cucumbers. Supposedly these set a good amount of fruit without getting over 2 feet in vine length.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Such lovely pants nonetheless. Meanwhile, my cucumbers always wind up tasting bitter. What’s up with that?

    Reply

  2. Plants, rather. Dang misspelled words!

    Reply

  3. LOL, thanks.

    As for bitter cucumbers, luckily I haven’t had that happen. I’m sure you’ve read this page already, but it seems to have a few reasons listed:

    http://www.gardeningknowhow.com/problems/what-causes-bitter-cucumber.htm

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

