Okra is growing taller

Okra Flower

The 4 Okra plants that I am growing in my garden had a slow start in their somewhat shady location behind the faster growing garlic leaves.  One is finally starting to flower.  I am still hoping for enough okra to pickle at least one jar.

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by thebeadden on June 16, 2012 at 2:10 pm

    I have never eaten okra. Maybe I’ll try it one time.

    Reply

    • My parents always told me a story about the first time they tried cooking with Okra, and how they ended up throwing the soup out. I have still only had Okra from a pickle jar.

      Reply

  2. Nice! We grew okra on a whim last summer, and here in central Indiana, it took off completely. We still have frozen okra for gumbo! By the end of summer, ours were seriously 10′ tall. Sending good okra vibes your way.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

