Thistle Weed

Thistle Flower

The last time I was about to mow the grass, my son ran out to me and begged me to spare the life of this weed.  He said he wanted to let it grow so that he could see what kind of flower it would make. I played along and mowed around it, and this purple flower was our reward.

It grew a little over a foot tall–maybe 18 inches–and I have noticed our neighbors eyeing it from their side of the fence, wondering if we planned on letting the seeds blow around.

We actually cut it and brought it inside as a table centerpiece!

11 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Leslie on June 11, 2012 at 7:52 am

    It’s still growing in the vase!!! A weed indeed.

    Reply

  2. Posted by thebeadden on June 11, 2012 at 10:55 am

    My aunt did that to me. Begged me not to pull it because she wanted to dig it up and plant it at her house. I let it grow, it became a monster and she never did come and get it! The flower is pretty though!

    Reply

  3. Don’t let it go to seed or you will have them everywhere.

    Reply

  4. Posted by Roseanne on June 11, 2012 at 9:38 pm

    I’ll trade you your thistle for all this rotten pokeweed. The birds are so generous! And I am so ungrateful. I found a thistle like this in that narrow north bed between our house and the neighbor’s never ending never tended hedge. It sprouted from a crack in the sidewalk where the sun never shines & got to be about 3-4 feet tall. I left it there because I thought it was pretty. Never saw another one there or anywhere else in this yard. Wish I could say that about the pokeweed! I swear, digging it out makes it multiply like rabbits. Actually, there are quite a few rabbits this year, too. Might even outnumber the tree rats (aka squirrels). As for YOUR neighbors? Tell them the definition of a weed is anything that grows where you don’t want it to grow.

    Reply

    • Pokeweed looks like something that we ought to make into jelly, but most agree that it’s fairly toxic. Pretty though. We have a lot more squirrels, rabbits and birds this year without a cat.

      Reply

  5. I’m not sure but that might be the thistle that if you flog any arthritic joint with it will cure the pain for awhile. Or you can buy the ointment made from it which sounds less painful.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

