The main problem with my Beets

I mentioned about a month ago that this year I have grown the best beets I have ever grown, by far.  That was pretty easy to say, because in other years the greens grew about 6 inches high, if that, and I got almost no size to the roots.

This year, my beet greens are much bigger and healthier looking, thanks to thorough, deep digging, purchased organic fertilizers, proper weeding and thinning and frequent watering.  But I’m not growing these beets for their greens…I don’t even enjoy the greens.

I want BEET ROOTS!  Wednesday I picked the biggest beet that was out there:

The beet seed was sown on around March 29th.  I took this photo 69 days later.  The packet claimed that I could harvest these in 55-65 days and even this one isn’t big enough to cook and peel!

I have to face facts now.  At some point, if I want to have better luck in the garden, I’m going to have to move it….

I took this photo of my garden at 11 a.m.  No part of the garden has yet been touched by the sun this day.  30 or 40 minutes later the far right (west) side starts to get sun, and 90 or more minutes later the back corner finally gets illuminated.

Ultimately, this is my beet problem, and this was my tomato problem until I moved them into the sunlight this year.

I spent many, many hours making that garden be “just right” down there…but now I see that the grass is sunnier on the other side of the yard.  Hopefully I will be able to live with the current situation and put off the big move for a long time.  Many parts of the garden get 6 or more hours of sunlight.

For now, I’ll let these beets grow for several more days.  I’ll add some more “K” fertilizer, which is supposed to help out roots. The longer I leave the beets growing, the more I risk them turning into fibrous, woody roots that are inedible.  Hopefully that won’t happen too soon.

11 responses to this post.

  1. Yeah, looks like too much shade there.

    Reply

  2. Peas and lettuce might like this spot though? Yeah, I think you may need to bite the bullet and move. Ugh. What a nuisance.

    Reply

  3. Posted by thebeadden on June 8, 2012 at 11:11 am

    I forgot to plant beets this year. I’m happy you finally got your roots! I wish I could take the tops off your hands. I love them.
    Your poor garden. All the work you did! I would have done the same. I like things ‘just so’ and would have never put our garden in the middle of our yard. My husband did that, and though I never said anything, it bothered me! LOL!
    Like Kerianne mentioned, the lettuce would like it there. I’ve also been experimenting with a shade garden using herbs, so far they are still alive!
    Good Luck!

    Reply

    • Please, come get them! I’ll put an appeal out to Facebook friends and our local market farmers. I could only eat so much salad and I hate them cooked.

      Reply

      • Posted by thebeadden on June 8, 2012 at 8:54 pm

        Do you have a juicer? I want to juice some with carrots and an apple. It’s supposed to pack a real punch (health wise)!

        Reply

        • I have never tried a juicer. I have seen countless infomercials, but they always seemed like they would be quite time consuming to clean and put away.

          Reply

          • Posted by thebeadden on June 9, 2012 at 2:14 pm

            Well, I can’t disagree with you on that one! I probably just used to cleaning things like that, meat slicer, meat grinder…I’m always the one cleaning and disinfecting! ;)

  4. How much sun does your plot get??? Have you considered pruning some of the branches of your trees? This might help if you can do it. I believe shade tolerant (3 to 4 hours a day) vegetables such as spinach, lettuce, arugula and radishes may work for you, have you tried growing these?

    Reply

    • I would love to remove whole trees, but none of the ones causing the trouble are mine. I have actually had decent luck with all of the shadier plants you suggest, but since this is my entire garden I want more variety! :)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

