Shelling Peas in 2012

Shelling Peas

I got this small collection of shelled peas from an 8 foot row.  And this was a good year with an early spring.

It turned out that I planted a bush variety pea, so they didn’t need to grow on the tree house trellis where I planted them.  Either peas just don’t grow well in my yard, or people who can peas must be planting literally hundreds and hundreds of feet of them.

Do you freeze or can peas from your garden?

8 responses to this post.

  1. I always think I am going to, but then never grow enough. Many of our shell peas never even make it into the house. My daughter snacks on them right off the vine when they are in season. I planted about 16 row feet last fall. I think I would have to plant most or all of my cultivated space to grow enough peas to have some to freeze.

    Reply

  2. Posted by thelinencat on June 2, 2012 at 1:30 pm

    We also eat ours mostly off the vine, some make it raw into salads but rarely do we get enough ripe at the same time for preserving. Not just you then :-)

    Reply

  3. I planted an 8 foot row of shell peas this year. They look like they should be ready for harvest in the next week or two. We’ll see how they do, but there probably won’t be enough to bother preserving. I started canning a couple years ago, but so far just things that can be done in a water bath.

    Reply

  4. Posted by thebeadden on June 2, 2012 at 8:46 pm

    My husband and I can’t stand cooked peas. We eat them raw like you would a bag of chips. I don’t mind them warmed (throw them in after a meal is cooked). We are growing about 12 plants, and that is still never enough. My mom (who lives with us) has about 30 plants in her flower garden because she said we never grow enough! :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

