Baby Cabbage Heads are Forming

Primero Purple Cabbage

I have focused in on the 2-3 inch heads that are starting to form on my Primero purple cabbage plants.  The outer set of leaves is probably 18 inches wide right now.

Baby Purple Cabbage

Purple cabbage tastes the same as green cabbage and can be used interchangeably in recipes.  However you have to be aware that it will bleed and stain the other foods, like a beet does.  Why grow purple cabbage organically?  Because it makes the worms so easy to find!

Cabbage Moth Worm

Edit:  Above I said that these were “Primero” cabbages.  They are in fact Red Acres cabbages.  I am growing both this year, and they look very similar.

10 responses to this post.

  1. Are you naming it Audrey II?

    Reply

  2. Posted by thebeadden on May 31, 2012 at 11:01 am

    I like the idea of the worms being easy to see. I just can’t wait for our garden to produce something.

    Reply

    • I have green cabbage growing too. The difference in ease of spotting the worms is like night and day. What will be the first thing you’ll get from your garden this year?

      Reply

      • Posted by thebeadden on May 31, 2012 at 6:29 pm

        We already have onions, garlic, chives, romaine will be next. It should be peas, but with the weird weather, who knows.

        Reply

  3. Brilliant idea to grow purple brassicas… we always have such a problem with cabbage worms. Something to keep in mind for next year – this year all of my brassicas are green and the worms are well-camouflaged.

    Reply

  4. I gave up on cabbage a while back because I could not stay on top of those pesky leaf eaters. But, alas, I am all geared up to try again this fall (we do brassicas in the fall/winter in Southern California). Purple cabbage is a brilliant! I am going to add it to my seed purchase for fall.

    Reply

    • In my garden the purple variety grows just as well and just as big. It just comes down to personal preference. The red-cabbage sauerkraut ends up a purpley-gray color after it has been slow cooked on a roast and it might be unappetizing to some.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

