First Red Raspberry of the Season…and a plan

First Red Raspberry of 2012

Raspberries are–easily–my favorite berry.  I cannot get enough of these.  I’m a bit too lazy (and a bit too much AT WORK) to frequent the farmer’s markets at the best times to buy the choicest produce, so whenever I find any raspberries at all, it’s the last sorry-looking quart the farmer has for sale and they are half-way to juice already.  Maybe I’m just too picky…I know they would still make fine jam.

There’s just nothing like a perfect raspberry, picked and eaten right outside by the plant.

But, I have a plan.  The other day while hiking at an undisclosed public location, we hiked through what was at least a full acre of raspberries in flower.  They were a week or so behind mine.  I FULLY intend to revisit that location, with a backpack full of containers.  Guerilla harvesting?  Maybe.  I’ll keep you posted.

8 responses to this post.

  1. One summer we traveled through the Pacific Northwest and found blackberries everywhere.They are my favorite. The residents say that they are a nuisance and try to eradicate them…..no, no, no….let me have them!

    Reply

  2. Posted by thebeadden on May 22, 2012 at 7:45 pm

    LOL!

    Reply

  3. Every year I say I am going to plant raspberries, and then the moment passes and it is too late. This fall I am committed to preparing the space for them, so, come spring, all I have to do is find the plants. I almost never buy raspberries because they are so dang expensive, but LOVE them. And, there is nothing like eating them just picked. I think my favorite are the golden ones.

    Reply

    • I just ran out of the 5 jars of raspberry jam I made in 2010. If my own canes don’t provide much this year, I will just have to find more somehow. I hope you do plant your own!

      Reply

  4. I love raspberries too and I think if I found a secret garden full I’d be in heaven.

    Reply

  5. Posted by Ashley on May 30, 2012 at 8:42 am

    So….fill us in! Have you re-visited the haven of berries? (I’m guessing if you had you’d be gushing over it with pictures)

    Reply

    • Sunday afternoon we walked that path again. The raspberry flowers have fallen, and have been replaced by green fruit. The entire clearing is a bit shady, so it seems to be about two weeks behind the plants in my own yard.

      I have put a note on my calendar for June 9th. We’ll check again that day.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

