Cherry Harvest – A whole bowl full

Two dwarf Northstar Cherry Trees.

Two dwarf Northstar Cherry Trees.  These are sour pie cherries.  The trees are almost 5 feet tall and have been in the ground for 3 years, 1 month.  They were ordered as single sticks about 2-3 feet tall in 2009.

I am about as happy as I can be with these cherries.  The only way I could love these more would be if I had about 8 times as many trees.  They will most likely end up in a pie.  Gosh, I need a pitter.

12 responses to this post.

  1. Your cherries are very pretty. Enjoy your pie :)

    Reply

  2. I think you do need a pitter….it is great when you can find a justification for a new tool or gadget!

    Reply

    • Posted by Jimmy Cracked Corn on May 20, 2012 at 11:41 am

      I try really hard to avoid owning 1-use items like a cherry pitter, but this could save a lot of time and headache.

      Reply

  3. Posted by thebeadden on May 20, 2012 at 10:40 am

    No birds got to them? What is your trick?
    I just love cherries! The thought of just going out my back door to pick them…now I want one!
    Looks like a wonderful harvest.

    Reply

    • Posted by Jimmy Cracked Corn on May 20, 2012 at 11:43 am

      I’m not sure! I think my trick is having huge mulberry trees nearby that can appease their appetites! They got some, but not too many. Or maybe the cherries came so early in the year the birds just weren’t too hungry this year.

      Reply

  4. We don’t have any cherries yet, but we should be receiving them in June, along with our mulberries. The birds love both.

    For the mulberries, we lay down tarp. We also have netting, which is held up by stakes, about six feet off the ground. It’s a simple way to catch the fallen mulberries, and keep the birds away from them too.

    Reply

    • That’s a really good solution. I used to eat mulberries when we lived where a tree was short enough to reach some of them. The mulberry trees around me have their bottom branches some 25 feet in the air, at a minimum. They are all for the birds.

      Reply

  5. Those look great.

    Reply

  6. Posted by Dwight on January 18, 2013 at 5:14 am

    Here Wal-Mart has a pitter. It’s made of plastic. We bought one it worked great on Bing cherries. I have not tried it on the smaller sour cherries. I have a tree just like yours. Your tree looks nice.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

