Planted Sweet Potato Hills

This is my third time growing sweet potatoes.

Sweet Potato Hills

This year I am trying a hilled approach.

Home grown sweet potato plants

This is just bagged dirt, mixed with what I already had in the bed, and amended with some Dr. Earth fertilizer.  My hope is that if I keep these hills moist, the soil will remain loose and friable enough for the sweet potatoes to go bonkers and grow well for me.

Newly Planted Sweet Potato Plant

I shouldn’t mix experiments, but another thing I’m trying that is different this year is that I didn’t cut the sweet potato slips off the mother spud…I just pulled the whole piece from the jar where I sprouted it and stuck it in the dirt.

Sweet Potato Vines

There are six hopeful sweet potato plants in these 3 hills.  The dirt under the hills was worked loose down to 8 or 10 inches.  As the vines grow and sprawl over this bed, I’ll let them root wherever they want.  Anywhere a vine roots, potatoes start to grow down from there.

Sweet Potato Hills

My wife says it looks like I buried somebody here.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Those mounds look small enough to be perhaps 3 of the 7 Dwarfs from Snow White :)

    Good luck with the sweet potato experiment – I’m looking forward to seeing the results!

    Reply

    • Sneezy’s allergies got to him, and Doc caught it while trying to care for him. Grumpy and Bashful got in a duel after arguing over which one Snow White liked more. 3 down.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

