Garlic getting pretty tall

Garlic in a 4 x 8 foot raised bed

My garlic is 18 or 20 inches tall now and seems to be growing great!  I expect to see the scapes show up any day now.  It looks like I need to weed it again.  I should have taken the time to re-cover that ground with grass clippings.  Ah, well.

8 responses to this post.

  1. I always love stopping by to see your beautiful gardens. It looks like you have another wonderful crop going this year. Continued luck.

    Reply

  2. Posted by thebeadden on May 16, 2012 at 9:07 am

    We have garlic too. Do you eat it fresh or do you dry it first? Any tips for us newbie’s? Thanks in advance.

    Reply

    • After picking the garlic I cure it until the skin papers are dry enough to store. Or by dry do you mean completely dehyrated? I have never dehydrated or powdered my garlic. We just cook with some cloves and save the biggest ones to replant.

      Reply

      • Posted by thebeadden on May 16, 2012 at 9:21 am

        Just dry, not dehydrate. About how long does it take? We were eating it fresh out of the garden last year and then I read somewhere that it should be dried! Oops!

        Reply

        • Last year I just laid it out on the picnic table where it would get an hour or two of indirect sun each day, and where it would stay dry. I probably left it there for a week, but it might have been done before that. I think the idea is just to get the moisture content of the roots and outside few layers down to near zero, to make a barrier so the moisture on the inside can stay in as long as possible.

          Reply

          • Posted by thebeadden on May 16, 2012 at 9:30 am

            Thanks, I really appreciate the advice! There is just so much reading and learning to do. Thank goodness for the internet where I can ask and get an answer, knowing the person has actually done it!

          • Posted by thebeadden on May 16, 2012 at 9:42 am

            Thanks! I am going to build an outdoor dryer/dehydrator this summer. (Just because I thought it would be neat to try)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

