Beets and Carrots growing well…so far

Beets and Carrots

The carrots (up top) are a bit patchy and sparse, but the beets are the best I’ve ever had, by far.  Up until now I have tried beets all 4 years.  One year I had them looking ALMOST this good, but they didn’t form roots for me.  The other 3 times they didn’t even get this far along.

This year I took extra time preparing the bed.  I dug it very deeply and added generous amounts of what the soil was lacking.  I still don’t know if I’ll get beets or not, but let’s say I have my hopes up now.

6 responses to this post.

  1. Wow – your beets do look amazing. If the beets end up small, you can always eat the greens. I have had tough luck with carrots, as well.

    Reply

  2. Posted by thebeadden on May 10, 2012 at 7:38 am

    Good thing beet tops are so tasty then! ;) Hope they grow well for you this year.

    Reply

  3. […] I mentioned about a month ago that this year I have grown the best beets I have ever grown, by far.  That was pretty easy to say, because in other years the greens grew about 6 inches high, if that, and I got almost no size to the roots. […]

    Reply

  4. […] harvested my beets a few days ago.  I didn’t get any pictures of them with their tops still attached, but they […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

