Growing a peanut in a pot

My son S. and I noticed a bag of raw peanuts in the pantry one morning after breakfast and decided to put a few of them in a potted plant in the house to see what would happen.  This was back in late January and we kind of forgot about it.

Quite a while later, perhaps 3 weeks or so, we noticed the new growth in the houseplant.  One of our peanuts had come up!

We transplanted it into a one quart pot for a couple months where it grew slowly but surely under the lights in the seedling room.  Then we finally got it planted outside in a 6 gallon square pot with about 14 inches of foot space to grow in.  I don’t know what we’ll end up with, but I’ll be disappointed if there isn’t at least one nice peanut pod growing under this thing when September or October comes.

Peanuts aren’t the only thing you can grow from “normal” grocery store food.  Almost every type of bean can be done this way, and the spice aisle can be sprouted for mustard, celery, cilantro (coriander) and more.

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by thebeadden on May 2, 2012 at 4:32 pm

    I hope you get a peanut!

    Reply

  2. I’m very excited to see what the harvest is. That is so exciting. I am growing potatoes this year for the first time. My neighbor planted and gave me his starts that he didn’t have room for. I think peanuts would grow well here too. I have thought about it – but that is as far as I have gone – thought.

    Reply

  3. […] potted peanut plant is flowering. Rate this:Share this:PinterestFacebookEmailPrintLike this:LikeBe the first to like […]

    Reply

  4. […] square white pot in the left bottom corner of the photo is the peanut plant that my son and I planted from a bag of raw spanish peanuts several months ago. It’s doing ok, as long as I remember to water it often in this heat.  It […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

