Potatoes growing well

Potatoes growing well

On St. Patrick’s Day weekend, about 6 weeks ago now, I planted potatoes in this space that used to be a walkway between two garden beds.  It’s 6 ft by 18 inches.  Rarely have I had any crop grow this fast or well as the potatoes this year.  They are loving the spot I chose for them.

2 responses to this post.

  1. I’ve always wanted to try growing potatoes in a raised bed. Are there any issues growing them that way?

    Reply

    • The first one that comes to mind is what happened to me last year. It was a drought year for us, at least during July and August. When it came time to harvest the potatoes I realized that I should have been watering them more often because although the above-ground plant was looking fine, the dirt was too hard for the potatoes to grow in. I hardly got any! This was a bed that is filled with soil that has a high clay content, and it turns into almost concrete when it really dries out.

      The year before last, I grew sweet potatoes in a bed filled with store bought bags of “compost”, which was really nice quality black dirt and a little fertilizer (like 0.5 0.5 0.5) mixed in. That dirt did get watered enough and was so friable that I was rewarded with 8 pounds of sweet potatoes in 2 square feet.

      So, my advice is to keep it loose.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

