What lies beneath (the hay in my garlic bed)

I had a chance to work in the garden for a couple hours today. Wow, it was nice to be back out there again!

At some point I decided to remove a majority of the hay that was covering my garlic bed. The hay won’t be needed unless oddly bitter cold returns without warning, but it was causing some of the plants a little trouble in growing.

I grabbed up a big armload of hay and carried it to my compost pile. I went back for a second armful and saw movement after my first grab…

I moved them to this sideways planter box outside my fence and completely covered them with their nest and lots of hay.  I hope the mother finds them and makes them a new home in another yard, even though I know they’ll just be a big pain in my garden this year.  I feel I owe it to the universe after what happened in 2010.

It is amazing to me how completely hidden these rabbit nests are, and how you never see the mother coming and going. You have to be not only right on top of them, but deliberately tearing up ground cover before you’ll stumble onto baby bunnies.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Leslie on March 9, 2012 at 10:45 pm

    Awwwwwww……cute little bunnies! Thank you for taking care of them:)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

