Cast iron breakfast

Last weekend I had some ham to use up.  I decided to make a frittata-like baked dish for breakfast.  Under the ingredients you can see above is a layer made up of 3 medium sized potatoes sliced with the mandolin slicer. After the potatoes I added my ham, some cheddar cheese and some butter.

I poured 4 scrambled eggs over it and that didn’t look like enough, so I increased it to 6. I put it into a 375 degree oven until it turned golden brown and the middle had firmed up.

It baked up into this delicious breakfast treat in about a half hour. Have I mentioned lately how much I love my cast iron? Just look at how well the pieces released from the pan!

We have used this particular pan for almost every meal since 1998 and we’ll probably be using it until the day we die.

3 responses to this post.

  1. I’m a bit late in posting to this topic, but I just discovered your site…

    Nice picture… my daughter thinks almost anything is better with cheese.

    I must say I love cast iron skillets too. It’s what my mother used when I was a child. I purchased my own cast iron skilled in college, so that was about 1990. I still have it, and it’s cooked plenty of meals. I felt as if I were cheating, when we got a smooth top stove. These days I use stainless steel on our wood stove. I look forward to using my cast iron cookware during the cooler months, and I love preparing meals on the wood stove.

    You have plenty of gardening posts, so I’ll be back. Now, I feel guilty, since I rarely post those pictures on my site. We had a slow start to planting in our garden because of the cold weather we’ve been having…

    Reply

  2. That should have read…
    These days I use stainless steel on our smooth top stove. My cast iron is used on our wood stove… ;)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

