Jimmy, Deer Hunter

My father has been a hunter since he was old enough to hold a BB gun. I have always enjoyed guns but hadn’t ever hunted for anything except when using a fish hook.

Lately my 8 year old has been pressuring me.  “Dad, I have friends who are 6 and THEY hunt with THEIR Dads. When are WE going?”

After enough nudges from him I realized it was time for me to figure this thing out for myself, so that I could take him out at some point in the next few years.  I gave it a try this year, both bow and shotgun seasons.  I got one decent shot off with my bow (a miss) and didn’t even see a deer during shotgun season, despite many attempts.

There’s always next year, but I think I’ve learned a lot from the experiences.

One response to this post.

  1. [...] thing I have been up to is deer hunting. I tried last year and didn’t see anything. I had much better success this year and now have over 90 pounds of [...]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

