Homemade Soy Sauce – Project underway

I found some instructions online for making sun-brewed soy sauce at home. So far I have:

  • Found 2 pounds of organic soybeans
  • Cooked them
  • Mashed the cooked beans together with flour – made a dough
  • Separated the dough into flat patties
  • Left the patties out in my computer room to purposefully grow mold
  • Set them out in the sun to let them finish drying out
I guess that after the soybean cakes dry out, I’m supposed to put them in a bucket, cover them with a brine solution, and then set the bucket out in the sun for a couple months.
I’ll update on the progress from time to time.

Picture unrelated. Just wanted you to know that I'm not ALL work.

7 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by leslie on August 10, 2011 at 9:00 pm

    You are funny!!!!

    Reply

  2. [...] I was cleaning up the garden and back yard.  I noticed the bucket in which I had begun a project to ferment some homemade soy sauce. [...]

    Reply

  3. Posted by mina on January 6, 2012 at 8:23 am

    thanks for your information.can i decrease 2 months?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

