Pink Sauerkraut!

Pick your purple cabbages and green cabbages. Aim for 13 or 14 pounds total. You want 12.5 pounds after throwing out the bad parts, the tough parts, and the outer leaves.

Shred the cabbages and pack them into a crock with a bit of salt. Wait a few weeks…

Result…2 gallons of delicious pink sauerkraut!

I canned 1 gallon into 8 wide mouth pint jars and packed the other half of the batch into a container that went straight into the fridge. Canning the kraut kills the beneficial bacteria, but it does last longer. We’ll eat the stuff from the refrigerator first, then use up these jars of kraut later in the year.

5 responses to this post.

  1. Man what a garden. Thank you for the excellent pictures and information. I am trying my first real garden this year with raised beds and I’m learning alot. I also appreciated the canning info as I will be trying that for the first time in the next couple weeks. Again great job!

    -justin

    Reply

  2. Are you sure? That sounds really nasty. I like Soy Sauce but I didn’t know that was what it was made of!

    Reply

  3. [...] you’ve been paying any attention at all to my blog, you should remember what this bushel of cabbage means.  Stay tuned later today for [...]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

