July Garden – 2011

My garden is getting along very well right now.  We ran through strawberries last month and they were great.  Cucumbers are coming along very well right now.

It is time to make a small batch of pink sauerkraut (mixing these two varieties) and replant this bed with bush beans.

The center of this bed is where I’m getting my cucumbers. The left half is planted with white potatoes and the right half is planted with sweet potatoes.

It will VERY soon be time to pickle some peppers. I hope to can up a few jars of hot peppers and pepperoncini peppers.  I also plan to have stuffed green peppers and to dry some tabasco peppers for hot powder.

The tree-house trellis is growing very well right now. In fact, since this photo was taken a week ago these tomatoes have overtaken the upper railing.  Each plant is about 9 feet tall now.

15 responses to this post.

  1. I am so impressed. Very beautiful cabbage you have there.

    Reply

  2. Thank you Diana! I gave them a prime sunny location this year.

    Reply

  3. Your garden looks amazing…and wow, those cabbages are very nice.

    Reply

  4. Hello, I think your garden is just amazing. Not only the way you have it planted but your wonderful crop. I can’t get over the size of those tomatoes plants. What a wonderful idea for pink sauerkraut.

    Reply

  5. Your place looks like a park. And your vegetables are amazing. I couldn’t buy vegetables that nice at a farmers market.

    Reply

    • Thank you Arsenius! I have to strike a balance because I’m a rural boy at heart and wouldn’t manicure the lawn but once a year if it weren’t for my 4 (!) back yard neighbors who peer-pressure me into it. Even our kids notice and say “Why are we the ONLY house on the block whose grass grows flowers?”

      I tell them that the unnatural and poisonous chemicals the neighbors have sprayed on their lawns to keep them picture perfect would be bad for them and our dog.

      Reply

  6. Posted by Michael S on July 13, 2011 at 2:07 pm

    What state are you in?

    Reply

  7. Your cabbage looks Great ! I can’t figure out what I’m doing wrong when I plant it. Do you start it indoors or sow the seed directly into the garden ?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

