Greenhouse Update (Ooh Baby It’s Cold Outside) – Late November 2010

Temperatures were forecast (at one point) to be in the teens overnight this week. They have since been revised upwards a bit, but I got my greenhouse heater in place. In this case I am using a string of 100 red, green and white incandescent christmas tree lights. The lights should add a few degrees of warmth inside the dome. Everything seems to be growing pretty well in there, but it was too dark for pictures without a tripod. I took this one with an 8 second exposure zoomed in from my picnic table on the patio.

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Roseanne on November 30, 2010 at 9:03 pm

    I bet the neighbors sure have questions for you. Are they brave enought to ask?

    Reply

  2. Posted by thelinencat on December 1, 2010 at 12:29 pm

    Now that idea I am loving! Shame I didn’t also get any fleece or cloches up in time, we are under a blanket of snow right now so time to sit back and plan next years garden.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Ozarkhomesteader on December 14, 2010 at 9:21 pm

    I love it! That’s what my plants need: happy lights. So far, I’m just using plastic. I haven’t had the heart (or the time) to check under it this week.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

