Archive for September 9th, 2010

Toad

S. found a toad while we were camping. He named him something predictable like Mr. Hoppy or some such. LOL. He is a lot of fun. He kept him in his pocket for 5 minutes and then put him back. He just knows that it would be wrong to take home the wildlife.

I have a tradition of taking the boys camping over Labor Day weekend. First I spend a night out with one of them while my wife gets alone time with the other one, then we swap and I spend another night out. This year H. and L. were sick, but they were doing well enough for S. and I to spend one night out.

The highlight of the trip this time, for both S. and I was something I unfortunately don’t have a photo of. In a tree 10 feet from our tent there was a wild beehive! We stood and watched the bees coming and going several times, and then went back with flashlight and lantern after dark to see them all settled in for the night, guarding the door.

We cooked up some sausage for breakfast in my camping cast-iron set and then headed home to take care of the sickies.