Deep inside my head…reply requested

I recently read an article about finding your ‘voice’ as a blogger and realized that I have a lot to learn about this whole pursuit.  In the article, the author made a list of trivia and I am totally going to copy his idea without shame.

When I write these blog posts, am I just keeping a diary?  Do I attempt to entertain the (mostly lurking) readers?  I need to figure out the answers to these questions.

Here is a laundry list of things I have never thought to mention on my blog…

  • My wife and I have been together for 19 years.  She’s 33.
  • I smoke, but I don’t tell my kids.
  • I could never call myself Democrat or Republican because there is no such person who wholly believes everything about just one side.  There are so many shades of gray.
  • My first and still favorite cast iron skillet was a wedding gift 12 years ago. I estimate that I have cooked in it 3,000 times now.
  • That number above would be higher, but another wedding present was a new set of Teflon cookware. I try not to think about what is IN my brain, thanks to slowly eating that Teflon.
  • We have a nice stainless steel set now.
  • I worry often that civilization as we know it will end soon.  This is why I try to learn old “thyme” skillz, yo. I learn to garden because I believe it just might be how I feed myself some day. I learn to can food because Illinois has winter. I yearn to move to a farm but I still need to arrange that.
  • I have been through Army Basic Training. I spent 6 years in the national guard. Feels like a past life.
  • Brutal honesty: If your vehicle’s headlights are retina-blinding-blue instead of yellowish-white like everyone else, YOU ARE a jackass. (I wonder how many subscribers I just lost.)
  • I have never been asked to show my college transcript to get a job. My degree is in “Individual Studies.”
  • I use Google Reader to catch up on all the blogs I read, so I rarely notice your blog’s layout, or if it has changed.
  • I have unsubscribed from several blogs because they started posting ads.
  • I have unsubscribed from MANY blogs because they switched to posting summaries in the RSS feed instead of the whole post. I really can’t click through, it’s too many!
  • I have struggled with my religion for a cumulatively far longer span of time than I have actually spent believing that I believed something, completely. I think I need to start my own church.

Now a challenge… I want all 40+ of you to tell me something about yourself. :)

20 responses to this post.

  1. Love this post :) Thank you for sharing. I find it interesting to see the balance between knowledge sharing and anonymity being played out on the web.

    I rarely visit your blog (always time issues) but I do love reading your updates by email and it’s so reassuring to share the highs and lows of growing your own veggies virtually. Neither have I found much time lately for my own blog, although it’s the village show today which we’re just about to wander up to, so might post some photos. Being a student and parent only allows tiny pockets of time for ‘normal’ life!!

    * We have yellow headlights. I have often wondered why some manufacturers think it’s okay to inflict additional eye pain on other night-time road users.

    * The stainless steel pan set we put on our wedding list 9 years ago has been one of the best things we asked for. I also must have ingested the teflon coating from the pan set Mum bought me for university…

    * The first time I cooked for my (now) husband at his house I made broccoli soup. Being unused to his blender I did not assemble it properly and managed to blend part of the plastic centre spool into the mix. I didn’t notice until tried to eat it. That taste still haunts me to this day.

    * I took violin lessons at school, and stopped at A Level time. In my mid 20′s, I wanted to play again for fun so booked a lesson. The teacher spent the whole hour telling me how awful my posture was and making me stop and start again that I have not touched my violin since. Thoughtless teachers are still one of my major gripes.

    * At the age of 13 I realised I could no longer eat meat. And I have been a vegetarian since, with the exception for the 3 years after my first year at university. I have no idea how it is that my mind changed so dramatically for that time, and then changed again. Really puzzles me.

    Keep up the great blog! :)

    Reply

  2. Posted by kateohkatie on September 4, 2010 at 9:08 am

    I love this post! :-)

    I’m pretty sure everyone who reads my blog already knows *way* too much about me. But…hmm… (I’m not kidding, this is really taking some effort. I think I over-share.)

    Oh! I know! Contrary to all the SUPERFUN stuff I post about, Jeff actually believes me to be a “stick in the mud.” Because I don’t drink a lot, don’t like large social gatherings, and am actually not all that fond of “people” in general. (I like most individuals I meet. Just not “people” in the abstract.)

    Well, when I put it that way maybe I *am* a stick in the mud.

    Reply

  3. Posted by leslie on September 4, 2010 at 9:39 am

    Ummmm….hello..I’m 32 until next month. No need to go there yet LOL!

    Reply

  4. Hmm, a blogging voice. That is certainly not something I have thought of before.

    I started a blog so that I would take photos of my garden and show them to family and friends. I would have quit after one season if my friend had not asked me to keep writing this summer. Now I am finding it a fun responsibility.

    We have a cast-iron pan but I avoid using it because it is heavy and I’m nervous about washing it the wrong way and ruining it. My husband is on cast-iron pan duty.

    I’m still not quite sure what an RSS feed is. But I know I prefer to receive blog post updates in my email.

    Just drove home with a blue-headlight car following me. There are so many potholes where we live that I kept thinking I was getting pulled over by a police car with blue flashing lights… no, just blue headlights bouncing up and down behind me.

    Reply

    • My wife was similarly hesitant about using the cast iron. I was the only one to cook with it for 6 or 7 years and the only one to ever clean it for 9 or 10 years. She has become more comfortable with cast iron recently. I converted her! :)

      Reply

  5. Posted by thelinencat on September 5, 2010 at 12:55 pm

    Love this post, made me laugh.

    Yep, I have a blog voice, not so much at my gardening blog (which I am guilty of neglecting quite badly right now, along with the actual garden – oops!) which is more of a diary, but I’m sure half the people who read my crafty/family blog think I live in a nice tidy house and I’m all perfectly presented and not the bag lady I actually am :) It’s not intended as deceit, simply that I blog about the fun stuff, no-one needs to know about the boring/depressing things.

    So, I’m fast approaching 40 and married to a computer geek. Already lived on a farm in the middle of no-where (brought up on one, family all still live there). Could quite fancy a few years of isolated living, used to dream of living in a lighthouse, but the Other Half would never agree despite my dragging him around the Yorkshire Dales and trying to impress him with it’s beauty.

    Oh and I want chickens in the garden and agree about the RSS feed, I also use Google Reader.

    Reply

    • I’m working on the chickens, but I have to convince my better half. I grew up on a rural property that was 0.1 miles from town with the best of both worlds. A couple acres to run around on, plant trees and gardens, have chickens and rabbits, burn anything I want, target practice right in the yard, etc.

      Reply

  6. Asking me to incriminate myself, eh . . . ?

    I am a militant ex-hippie. I love my Bushmaster .223, Mossberg 500, and Glock 26. I will be the first to say Barry Hussein Obama/Pelosi/Reid have spent more than any other presidency put together to collapse us Cloward and Piven style. I have 6 months worth of food, ammo and water in my basement. I hate the fact that I wasted a lot of money on liberal indoctrination in college. That said, it is great to be a fine upstanding businessman, although I wasted a lot of time tilting at windmills as a youth.

    That said, I have the best tofu, seitan, and tempeh recipes. I also make homemade bread every day from grains I barter for locally. Self-sufficiency is great!

    Reply

    • Militant ex-hippie…I love it! Very interesting self-description. I linked your Cloward and Piven reference above to the wikipedia page that describes the term because if I had to look it up someone else might too. My food storage is based on what time of year it is. When fall starts I have 3 or 4 months of meals stored, or maybe 6 months if I knew we should ration it. It’s mostly in a freezer full of meat and the 200 jars I can each summer. By the time summer rolls around we have about 1 month of food stored in the house, assuming that you can eat beans and rice 30 times in a row. Stored water is lacking, but I have a creek and a filter.

      I am actively working toward finding barter type relationships in town, and need to develop that some more.

      Reply

  7. Thanks so much for stopping by my blog. Hope it helped. I must say, it’s hard to find a voice and stick with it. I have my “farm blog” that chronicles my adventures and hopefully can provide a helping voice to other farm folk. When I wanted to get creative, I had to start another blog to maintain the integrity of Eden Hills. Something that might not be well known, is that my religion is Wicca. This was a fun post to read and respond to.

    Reply

    • Thank you for visiting. I have so many little things to learn and every blog I visit helps me along the way. If I were to add one more confession to my list it would be that looking into the eyes of a goat freaks me out. They know more than they let on. :)

      Reply

  8. I too believe “the world as we know it will end”, but I don’t think it will be a bad thing. The process of changing the world is happening now, during this recession. There will be little upheaval, but a great deal of change. I envision the result being cities with green roofs and more trees, and in the country, more local food, and less wastefull packaging. I also see less pollution.

    I think the future will be green, and generally a great place to be.

    As for me: I’m 29, a computer guy, and I have a pig, and about 10 chickens. The change I’ve spoken about above has happened to me. My current focus is how to reduce my Carbon Footprint.

    Reply

    • I agree completely. It’s going to be a slow slide with a few bumps as people have time to adjust to the reality that their kids are not going to have more stuff than they had, an easier “more moderner” life than they had, a bigger house than they had, etc. 99% of the people are clueless and will be quite disappointed as this sinks in, but it will be fairly peaceful, especially in rural areas and smallish towns.

      I am also a computer guy, currently making web sites and letting his programming skills apathy. It doesn’t bother me too much though, because there won’t need to be as many of us in the future. I just need to continue to build up “blue collar” skills so that I still have a way to pay off the mortgage when my job goes away. :)

      Reply

  9. Posted by cahvdf on September 14, 2010 at 8:33 am

    1. I did not read nearly as much in college as I should have and still got A’s.
    2. I was in a Sorority, shhhhh.
    3. I worry our way of life is about to end, and secretly hope every day to wake up to no power, crashed satellites, and endless time to learn it all over again with my friends.
    4. Every day I struggle to not go to a bar and drink the day away.
    5. I would be content to spend every day hanging out, helping folks, growing stuff, smoking stuff, and never leaving home!!!!
    6. I miss my friends more than they will ever know.
    7. If I keep this up I may never graduate!!!!!! Peace out . . .

    Reply

    • #3 made me smile at the wording “secretly HOPE.” Ha! I know what you mean but unfortunately if a crash happens at any rate in between immediate and slow slide I’ll be struggling to pay off my mortgage and possibly out on the street. I need to get a piece of junk land somewhere close by. #4…wait ’til fun Fridays! #5 is just a matter of lifestyle choice I think. You could put an old airstream on a piece of junky land and be debt-free for $5,000. Then you could just grow enough extra basil to sell at the farmer’s market to pay your $100 yearly property taxes and you’d be set. We miss you too and are looking forward to every visit!

      Reply

  10. [...] a potentially related note, I haven’t smoked for 8 days now, and it feels [...]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

