Almost time for popcorn

We had an old tin of popcorn that we bought from the Boy Scouts fundraiser a couple years ago that was almost gone.  This spring I planted a 2×2 square with a bunch of the kernels and was very surprised by the germination rate.  I pulled out 5 or 6 for each one I kept.

Now they are getting close to being ready.  The ears are a nice size, and most of the stalks have two ears. I peeked inside the husks of one ear, and I can tell it needs a few more weeks. We will dry this and have enough popcorn (and seeds) for another year.

The eaves of the garage in this picture are over 8 feet high.  This is pretty tall corn.

2 responses to this post.

  1. That’s amazing! I wish I had the room to try growing corn.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

