Thing A Day

I apologize for the lack of gardening, cooking and seed saving posts lately.  Looks like it has been over two weeks since I made a peep on here.  I’ll get some garden pictures posted up ASAP, and review the million jars we have canned over the last few weeks.

But first, I wanted to say that I am seriously considering joining the Thing A Day movement that I found on the blog at Unclutter.com.

The premise of Thing A Day is that for an arbitrary period of time that I choose, I have to permanently rid myself of one thing each day. I can give it to a friend, donate it to the Salvation Army, Freecycle it, throw it in the garbage if that is best, but just totally pare down the volume of my belongings.

I might even take it a step further and make myself let go of an additional item for each new thing I buy myself, just to keep a negative balance going in the house. I think I’m going to try doing this for a month, posting here about it once a week. If I can take it, maybe I’ll extend it for longer.

Then again, maybe ONE thing a day is far too easy for the first month.  Maybe it should be brutal, like 5 things a day for the first month?

What are your thoughts?

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by leslie on August 3, 2010 at 11:28 am

    That’s 365 things per year. I think you should start in the storage room. Does one box count as one thing???LOL!

    Reply

    • If I get rid of things in a big group, I’ll stop counting at some point. I won’t just, for example, offload a box of 150 old comic books and declare it a good month. I’ll arbitrarily decide that it counts for 1 or 2 days if it feels easy to get rid of, or maybe a week if it was something difficult to let go. I make the rules here, which is fine by me, so I can change them as I go! :D

      Reply

  2. Great idea – I’d recommend setting up a couple boxes labeled “Goodwill”, “Freecycle”, “Mend or Fix”, “Give/Return to Friend/Relative.” That way, you can do a little bit of stockpiling and make a Salvation Army run when your box is full, or put a bunch of stuff on Freecycle at one time. 5 items a day the first month is a pretty ambitious goal – but doable. From my computer, I can see at least 5 decks of cards that I should donate… and some old audio tapes… and some outdated atlases. If your house is anything like mine, 5 things per day probably won’t be too hard for the first month.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

