June 1st Garden Panorama – 2010

June 1st 2010 Garden Panorama

Click the picture for an insanely bigger version.

If you look closely enough you can see a few of the “stitching” mistakes.  Oh well, you get the idea.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Natures Retreat on September 21, 2010 at 7:15 pm

    I love the ideas for trellising, I have horrible straight line winds from the south, I am hating the idea of blocking a beautiful view with trees, from the gardens standpoint. What kind of tomatoes are you growing, and did the black plastic with bricks work. You have convinced me to start a blog instead of sharing pics with people and them trying to understand this, and like your garden, they want to know why my sqft gardens are odd shaped and have flowers. Now to find a blog!

    Reply

    • I seem to have a slightly different trellis every year. One year they are too short and I fight with the plants. The next year I build 8 foot trellises and only one variety of tomato grows that tall. :) Oh well! This year I grew Cabin, Oxheart and Amish Paste Indeterminate tomatoes and Heinz 2653 Determinate tomatoes. Only Cabin grew well enough to need the big trellis. My plan for next year will include an entire bed (12 plants) of Cabin tomatoes on tall trellises, an entire bed of Amish Paste on short trellises, and an entire bed of Heinz with just tomato cages. The Heinz plants, being a determinate variety, will die back in mid to late-June, so I’ll reuse that as a bed for green beans after they are done.

      The black plastic fabric was intended to keep the weeding down and to help isolate the plants from the soil-borne blight fungus. It did keep the weeds down, but it did not help at all with the septoria leaf spot. Next year I’ll use an organic copper spray preventively from the beginning. An unintended downside to the ground cover was that I was unable to add compost to the whole tomato bed, although I was probably going to be too lazy to get around to doing it anyway. It would still be possible to water with compost tea or fish tank water, etc.

      I’m happy to hear that you’ll be starting a blog! Please come back after you begin and leave a link.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

