First week of April Garden Overview – 2010

My average last frost date of the year is April 14th. That means there is still a 50/50 chance that I could get another frost on that date. A week later is my 10% chance date.

This year has been different. We haven’t had a frost for about two weeks now, since late March. The coldest night in next week’s forecast is Thursday morning, which is now slated to dip down to 36 degrees. Everything I have out in the garden can take a little touch of frost.

I have out broccoli, lettuce, strawberries, onions, sugar snap peas and carrots.

Every other plant will wait in the little greenhouse until after April 14th and any forecast of frost…just a little insurance.

11 responses to this post.

  1. looking good!! Still room for the kids to play.

    Reply

  2. wow, such commitment. The Handyguys aren’t such green thumbs. We are going to have a gardening expert on our show in the next couple week to help us and out listeners out. Keep up the good work.

    Reply

  3. Hey Jimmy Cracked Corn:
    I’m amazed you found my new blog! You’re photos are incredible– a very beautiful garden and I’ve never seen the squared-off approach, but it looks really organized.

    Containers outside will be combo of some plastic, others tin or wood. I’m Zone 3, so I’ve got to wait till June 1 before anything goes outside.

    I will use hot tents in the garden for the cukes and tomatoes etc. Frost is always possible even in early June here.

    Reply

  4. Posted by kateohkatie on April 6, 2010 at 8:31 pm

    Amazing!

    So…could sugar snap peas grow in containers, or do they really need “real” ground? I’m asking for a “friend”, of course. A friend whose balcony may soon be covered in terra cotta pots… :-D

    Reply

  5. It looks a great system. I have never really tried it myself. I am digging my plot over and making them into 4ft wide deep beds. I like this system. Easy to manage. The weather is looking good for the next few days so l am hoping to play catch up!

    Reply

    • Yes, 4 foot wide beds that are never walked on should, in theory, never have to be tilled again. At the least, you should be able to go a few years without recultivating them.

      Reply

  6. Posted by Shari on April 8, 2010 at 9:36 am

    WOW!!! Your raised beds look awesome! I wish I had that much room to plant but the backyard is actually quite small. I am trying a couple different potting techniques this year with eggplants and tomatoes so hopefully save room for some of the other plants to go into the ground.

    Can’t wait to see how your growing season goes!

    Shari

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

