Onion Sets 2010

I’m glad I saved these mesh bags. I figured I would eventually find something to use them for. Anyway, onion sets were on sale at a local farm store for 45 cents per pound, so I got this huge bunch of onions to grow for like two bucks. Very nice!

One response to this post.

  1. And now I’m reading on another web site that onion sets this big should be avoided because they tend to bolt. The average size of the bulbs in these sets is about the diameter of a US quarter at the widest point. The site I was reading says that any sets bigger than a dime should be eaten for it’s greens because it’s likely to bolt. This might be a learning experience. We shall see.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

