Kid’s Garden Planner

I am adding two new 4 ft x 8 ft garden beds this year, so I decided to let my kids each plant one.  I’ll also let our wonderful friend and neighbor, M., plant one of my existing 4×8’s.  These children are 8, 6 and 6 years old, so I made them up a planning guide that you see above (and in color below).

I helped them cut out the plant rectangles that are sized to cover 1, 2 or 4 square feet in the bed, and then let them arrange them any way they pleased.  So far, two of the three are finished:

Kids' 4 x 8 foot garden plans

Feel free to take this idea and run with it, but make your own.  Absolutely all of the pictures in mine were “lifted” gently from Google searches, so I have no permission to use them.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by gardengeekette on February 3, 2010 at 10:58 pm

    what a great idea!! i bet the kids will have so much fun watching their gardens grow.

    Reply

  2. Posted by thelinencat on February 5, 2010 at 2:22 am

    I love this idea and will happily be using it next year when my boys are a bit older, I plan to give them a large tub each this time around. Look forward to seeing how all your planning works out, reminds me I need to get mine drawn up!

    Reply

  3. Wow, that is a good idea! It’s like a delicious puzzle.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

