Seed Germination Trials

Seed Germination Trials

Seed Germination Trials

Last year I saved seeds from as many things as my waning fall motivation would allow.  This week I need to determine if my efforts were successful.  I am attempting to germinate a few samples from each type in a wet paper towel.  In case the seeds require darkness, I also covered the paper towels with damp newspapers.

Radish and Chive seeds

The radish seeds are germinating already. The black ones are chives.

No luck yet for these tomato seeds...

...or cantaloupe seeds...

...or watermelon seeds.

Wish them luck!!!

I have also been ordering seeds!  Stay tuned!

7 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Roseanne on February 2, 2010 at 10:35 pm

    I couldn’t tell you if any of your seeds need this, but some seed types have to be nicked before you soak them.

    Reply

    • After a very brief search I found that your advice might help my germination rate with peas. It does seem worth a try because I do have poor pea sproutage. I couldn’t find much other advice related to seed nicking unless they were talking about certain flowers.

      Reply

  2. I’m going to try the watermelon seeds again this year. I will remember to water better them this time.

    Reply

  3. Posted by snowcatman on March 5, 2010 at 7:47 pm

    i would like to se more of your seed picter’s if any of them sprouted. thank’s

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

