I picked 25 or 30 tomatoes today…

…in about 15 seconds.

25 or 30 tomatoes.

25 or 30 tomatoes.

These are “Spoon” tomatoes, which are a type of very small currant tomatoes. The ones shown here are the first to get ripe. Later in the year I expect much greater smallness from them. The seeds were given to me as a novelty present this Christmas, so I grew one. These tomatoes are actually quite delicious. VERY full of sugar.

Think they’re too small to eat with Mozzarella?

5 responses to this post.

  1. I saw the title of your post and envy was beginning to boil up within me! :) How can he have ripe full size tomatoes so soon?? Then I saw your little tomatoes!! What a cute variety! Are they heirloom or hybrid?

    Reply

  2. Posted by Roseanne on July 2, 2009 at 9:20 pm

    Hello, Son-in-law! I wondered if those tiny seeds would amount to anything.

    Reply

    • Hello Roseanne! It’s the craziest tomato vine I have ever grown. I’ve had to hack it back a couple times already. It would be 20 feet long already if left to itself. I have several of your other seeds going too. I think we’ll have 8-ball zucchini soon.

      Reply

  3. I was wondering how you had fully ripened tomaters this early. Even though these would be harder to handle, I think I would actually prefer these on a salad.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

