Community Garden Plot

I haven’t shown you my community garden plot because I never remember to bring the camera.  So here are some blurry cell phone pictures.

Community Garden Plot 10 x 30 feet

Community Garden Plot 10 x 30 feet

At the front right corner is an improvised trellis trying to support 9 tomato plants and already sagging in the middle.

Photo_062509_004

The rest of the space contains alternating hills of either corn and pole beans together, or a vining plant such as a squash, cucumber or watermelon.  This is my three sisters garden.  It’s a very fun experiment and I think it’s going to work out.

More pics:

Photo_062509_005

Photo_062509_006

Photo_062509_007

Photo_062509_008

4 responses to this post.

  1. Is your community plot growing veggies for you and your family? Or is this a charity community garden?

    Reply

  2. Posted by Leslie on June 26, 2009 at 8:39 am

    It’s actually growing veggies for our family (this is the wife)…but what an awesome idea! We don’t have charity gardens around here. I’d love to start one.

    Reply

  3. Hi Leslie! Our church has a food bank and they’ve been talking about starting a community garden, but I have yet to hear more. I think it’s a fantastic idea, but they have such a eensy weensy city lot I wonder where it’s going to go!

    Reply

  4. Yes, we’re planning on growing as much of our own as we are able to this year, given time and space constraints. I’m still in learning mode, always trying new things just so I know that I can scale it up and do more of it when it becomes an absolute necessity. I feel like I’m an apprentice gardener being tutored by my fellow bloggers on the internets.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

