Strawberry propagation by runners

…is so easy a caveman could do it.

Actually it usually just DOES itself.  If left unattended, strawberry plants will send off runners which will root near the parent plant and become self sufficient, removable, separate strawberry plants.

However, we are planning on moving our strawberries this fall to a different place in the yard, so I’m going to try to keep things orderly in the strawberry bed until then.

I don’t see any reason to waste perfectly good potential plants, so instead of cutting off the runners, I’m rooting them in containers.

Rooting strawberry runners in a pot

Rooting strawberry runners in a pot

The sticks are just helping to hold the vine in place until the roots grow.

Strawberry propagation.  Ugg.

Strawberry propagation. Ugg.

There is an excellent book that you can get from Amazon for (at the time of this writing) only $4.00.

Grow the Best Strawberries: Storey’s Country Wisdom Bulletin A-190 (Storey Country Wisdom Bulletin, a-190)

14 responses to this post.

  1. Growing strawberries from seed is a definite hassle. I did it this year, and I don’t plan on doing it again. This is a great way to multiply your strawberries quickly.

    Reply

    • I can only imagine. The seeds are pretty small. It’s probably similar to starting peppermint from seed, which I tried successfully this year. The seeds were slightly bigger than dust and the seedling plant was so small that damping off was a serious issue. I grew one plant from about 45 seeds scattered.

      Reply

  2. Posted by sarabclever on June 23, 2009 at 12:28 pm

    Nice to actually see how it works! I almost bought strawberries this year…now regretting it…

    Reply

  3. I propagated some strawberries last year using the same techinque worked great and eating strawberries off those plants this year. Those shoots are hardy, even had some growing in the pea gravel next to my garden. While preparing my beds this spring found even more of these guys growing on their own.

    I always tell people buy 1/4 – 1/2 of the plants you need by the next year you will have mroe plants than you need. The second year you can share with neighbors and by the third year those original plants may finally being dying of to recycle the process. Good way to keep a variety of plants in stages to avoid the whole feast/famine situation.

    Reply

    • That seems like it would work out. I already have multiple runners per parent plant and the runners don’t stop after one baby. It’s more like skipping stones in the water, they bump down, grow a new plant and then take off to make another one a little further on down the line.

      Reply

  4. Awesome! going out to check my strawberry plant for runners.

    Reply

  5. This is a very good idea! I just went out yesterday and cut off the runners from the Mother Ship that were already rooted.

    Reply

  6. Posted by Kaila on October 25, 2009 at 11:06 am

    What kind of soil do you use?

    Reply

  7. As crazy as it sounds, the idea of using popsicle sticks to hold the runners in place never occurred to me! ::hanging my head in shame::

    As soon as I find a way to hang some tiny pots from my vertical garden, I’m grabbing those popsicle sticks! Thanks so much!

    Reply

    • Those sticks were the ones I used to mark my seedlings as they grew that year. I like using twigs or popsicle sticks because they biodegrade so fast that you never have to remove them.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

