Tomato Trellises 2009

Trellises, about three weeks ago

Trellises, two or three weeks ago

I built these interesting, semi-obelisk tomato trellises this year to try to give the tomato plants more head room at the top versus last year’s teepee design.  I’ll probably change them next year to give them a slightly wider footprint.

Tomato Trellis, this week

Tomato Trellis, this week

8 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Robin on June 22, 2009 at 4:11 am

    Do you have to prune any of the plants?

    Reply

  2. About the time the 4th growing tip shows up and they are getting out of hand I do start pruning the tops. I also prune from the ground up to the lowest greenies, little by little as the plant grows.

    Reply

  3. P.S. I advise you to NOT copy this trellis design. It is tippy and not structurally solid. I’m getting so tired of wooden trellises that I might use big homemade wire cages next year.

    Reply

    • Posted by Sandy Murray on October 13, 2012 at 10:16 pm

      I made a similar structure to grow peas on. The wind kept blowing it over until my husband cut some foot long stakes and drove them into the ground beside it. Then he screwed the stakes to the trellis. It never blew over again.

      Reply

  4. They look great. I think you are right with a wider foot print they would be perfect. Do you put the plants at the four corners? I am planning for next years garden. I fear that it is too late in the season to get started now. I think that the growing season fairly long down here in Florida, but not sure late August is the time for planting tomatoes.

    Reply

  5. Posted by Wade on June 1, 2011 at 8:11 pm

    yo duder, what’s the improved design? i’m cutting bamboo(cane) tomorrow to make a grid which will be supported at the ends by t-posts. thunked it up myself–free cane, free twine, have a few t-post and 60 plus tomato plants to string up.

    Reply

    • I’ll have to post pictures of this year’s trellis system. I don’t know if it’s improved or not. It’s definitely not as strong, but hopefully it will suffice.

      Thank you for visiting!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

