Raised bed vegetable garden 2009

 

Two new beds (near the viewer) and four raised to be deeper

Two new beds (near the viewer) and four raised to be deeper

I worked in the garden this past Saturday.  I added in two new veggie beds and increased the depth of four of the existing beds.  Wood is expensive.

8 beds plus 4 bales to plant

8 beds plus 4 bales to plant

The ones closest to the photographer here are covered in cardboard in the hope that a week without sunlight will make the sod removal easier this Saturday.

Behind that fence lies a creek...that floods.

Behind that fence lies a creek...that floods.

My main motivation to raise the vegetable beds to these depths was the creek that runs behind my property.  Last year the creed flooded several times and ruined some of the garden.  I raised the lowest lying bed to a height of 18 inches.  The next one up is now 14 inches high and the one in the foreground is 10 inches high.  I think this is going to help quite a bit.

They are quite deep now.

They are quite deep now.

View from low ground

View from low ground

The dirt will be delivered to the front driveway early Saturday morning, weather allowing.  Actually I’m starting to wonder, because the forecast calls for Thursday and Friday to be raining.

With any luck I’ll have these all filled and tilled and partially planted next week!

I’m not really looking forward to a day of moving dirt again, but it has to be done.

8 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Leslie on April 9, 2009 at 11:07 am

    Looks great! Can’t wait to get seeds planted. Spring isn’t coming soon enough:)

    Reply

  2. Posted by Kate on April 9, 2009 at 2:19 pm

    Love your raised beds. I’ve done the cardboard on grass thing as well – works like a charm!

    Reply

  3. Posted by jenngator222 on April 10, 2009 at 9:36 am

    Wow, I am so jealous of your garden. I have one 4 x 8 raised bed :( I have had it for 2 years, and always try to way too much in it.

    Reply

  4. Thanks Jenn! I have about 330 square feet this year and I hope to take advantage of each and every one intensively!

    Reply

  5. What a nice garden, though I don’t envy you your dirt hauling that you have in store. I hope your extra height works for you. My garden is near the top of the hill so we don’t have such issues.

    Reply

  6. The dirt delivery was postponed to next week. Stay tuned for that later.

    Reply

  7. Posted by bethsmiles on April 14, 2009 at 12:59 pm

    Perhaps now that your beds are deeper, when/if the creek floods, it might water your garden from the underneath up? Might be advantageous….

    Reply

  8. Interesting! That could be a big benefit! I certainly hope so! The dirt that was just delivered tonight is a pretty small pile, so that deepest bed will probably not be completely full this year. Another reason to hurry up and build a set of compost bins.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

