Plant 16 per square foot.

“Plant 16 per square foot.”  They make it sound so easy, don’t they?

My cookie cooling rack started to go rusty on me.  We’ve been using it since about 1997, so that’s not too bad.  I knew right away what I was going to do with it (yeah, I might have been secretly happy that it was finally worn out)…

9, 16, or 25 plants per square foot.

9, 16, or 25 plants per square foot.

The rack shown is about 10 inches high and about 18 inches wide.  In the garden this year I will simply lay this metal grid on the prepared soil and, using the painted squares as my guide, plant seeds in a pattern that will produce 9, 16, or 25 plants per square foot in the garden!  I’m so excited!  I could probably also paint on patterns for 6, 12, whatever.  Maybe I will.  I haven’t used yellow, blue or green yet.

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Robin on February 25, 2009 at 4:24 am

    Clever!

    Reply

  2. Posted by agape7 on February 26, 2009 at 6:08 pm

    I need new cooling racks dear…

    Reply

  3. Awesome idea, too bad our cooling racks only have wires going one way.

    Reply

  4. Posted by Ali on March 24, 2009 at 8:54 am

    Very clever. A trick I discovered is that milk crates can be used to mark square foot blocks. I’m wondering now If I can use the bottom of the milk crates the in the same way, to space the seedlings out evenly. Such a good idea!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

