Review Pinetree Garden Seeds

I placed an order for some of my 2009 seeds from a company online that I had no experience with–Pinetree Garden Seeds.

I ordered on December 18th, they shipped my envelope on the 29th and I received it yesterday, January 7th.  Fast enough for this time of year with the holiday times and all.

I can’t comment on shipping cost because they will be sending me strawberry plants later this spring.  In other words, the amount I paid them for shipping is being used to send two different packages.

The seed packets I received did not have many seeds in them.  A person could look at this as a good thing or a bad thing.

My Broccoli packets seem to have 20 or 25 seeds. I see now upon further reading on the site that they DID disclose “minimum 30 seeds per packet” and I missed it.  My fault. I need to count a couple more because I really don’t know if I even got the 30 I was promised.

Tomato packets are promised a minimum of 20 seeds.  Reasonable, I guess.

I’m going to chalk this one up to user error and needing to read the print on the screen better. Oops!

Update: I counted a couple packets thoroughly, including the seeds stuck way down in the corners and there were about 40 seeds in each broccoli, with “minimum 30″ promised.  That’s service, if you ask me.  I just wish the number of seeds on each packet was written on the individual product pages and not just on the category pages.  In my case it led to confusion and a bit of false hope.

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Robin on January 8, 2009 at 9:49 am

    I looked at their website yesterday to compare prices. Some of the tomatoes I want are now very expensive and I need 1000 seeds each. Pinetree was too expensive for large amounts so here I sit, seed shopping again this morning.

    Reply

  2. I just got next year’s garden from Pinetree. Their shipping was a tad slow, but the varieties (especially patio plants) is amazing. Gardenweb gave them horrible reviews, but this is the second year I have had a good experience.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Ali on March 24, 2009 at 9:02 am

    I love PineTree Seeds, because of the smaller packet size and thus, lower cost. It allows me to order more varieties This year I am growing orange Cheddar and purple Grafitti cauliflower, for example. Plus, they are nice people! They are not for large scale growers, however.

    Reply

  4. Posted by GAIL MACLEAN on October 24, 2009 at 6:18 pm

    PLEASE SEND A 2010 CATALOG ..
    GAIL MACLEAN
    PO BOX XXXX
    XXXXXX, MA XXXXX

    THANK YOU

    Reply

  5. Posted by d jensen on March 21, 2011 at 3:19 pm

    very unhappy with Pinetree seeds, small amount of seeds in packages, no instructions on packages and when I wrote and asked why not, they said their printer wouldn’t do that. HUH!
    Then to top it off, I got two packs of aster (powder puff) not one has appeared, problems with only a few of the seeds actually germinating. I’ve been starting seeds in my greenhouse for years, so I don’t thing it’s me. Thinking they sold me last year seeds maybe.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

