Extra long green bean madness.

 

Yardlong Green Beans

Yardlong Green Beans

I’ve had better tasting green beans than the Yardlong variety we grew.  They weren’t bad…just not great. They truly were EXTREMELY prolific for the space they took up.  I had to cook them quite a while to get them to the point where I could really enjoy them.  Butter and bacon helped too. :)

4 responses to this post.

  1. Those are, without a doubt, the longest green beans I have ever seen.
    Your son looks like he’s having a ball!

    Reply

  2. So skip the yardlongs and go with the regular? I remember picking green beans, washing them and then eating them from my Grandmothers garden. Sometimes we wouldn’t even wash them. :)

    Reply

  3. Actually, I think I might still grow them again next year. They are tall climbing pole beans and produce at LEAST twice as much food for their footprint as regular beans. I’ll just can or freeze them with an earmark for casserole. They aren’t terrible, and they get better the longer you cook them.

    Reply

    • Posted by j on April 3, 2011 at 5:22 am

      I think those are asian variety long beans….good in stir fry and various other Filipino as well as other asian dishes I would like to grow those. I wish I knew where to get them

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

