Potted cucumbers

 

Cucumbers in a container

Cucumbers in a container

The cucumbers I’m growing on my patio in a container are doing well enough, considering how often they need to be watered.  The bottom leaves are yellowing and dying now, but I’m getting a few veggies from the plant.  Overall I’m happy with it.  It’s a neat decoration, if nothing else.

6 responses to this post.

  1. They look happy sharing the container with the flowers!

    Reply

  2. In person they look like they have the flu. :( Next year I’ll plant them in basically the same spot, but on the outside of the patio in a tiny square 18 inch raised bed. Then they’ll be able to send lots of roots down into the ground.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Shae on August 5, 2008 at 6:35 pm

    Yeah ^^

    Reply

  4. Posted by Sakhi on April 9, 2009 at 1:43 pm

    How big is the container?

    I am planning to plant a cucumber in container on my deck.

    Reply

  5. It’s a 12 or 14 inch square pot, and about the same height. There were 3 cucumber plants in there and they would use so much water that they needed to be watered twice a day. And that was in partial shade. Go big, if possible, or you won’t be able to go away for the weekend without plant sitters.

    Reply

  6. Posted by Sakhi on April 14, 2009 at 10:05 am

    Thnaks. I have 2 16′ round pots and 4 cucumber plants. I guess I will plant 2 in each.

    I planted 4 seeds hoping at least one will germinate but surprisingly they all did.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

