Tomato strangeness or predictibility?

When I was planting out my seedlings I didn’t move them all outside at the same time.  I was afraid that I would get hit by a cold snap and lose them all.

One step along the way was when I planted out 4 of my 12 tomato plants, one from each variety I grew this year.  They have been in the ground perhaps two weeks longer than the rest.

Well it shows!  Out in the garden right now I have 4 tomato plants with just TONS of green tomatoes, some already much bigger than a golf ball.  Those first 4 plants!  One of each variety.

The plants that were put out later–8 other plants, 2 of each variety–are just as tall and big as far as leaves, vines, general foliage…but they are only flowering…not a single green tomato yet.

I’m not sure how they know, but apparently they know.  It must be related to the root system?  Or maybe they are counting the days?  If anyone has a theory, let me hear it.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Robin on June 9, 2008 at 2:09 am

    Younger plants transplant better than older plants. Ideally, tomato plants should be in the ground around 6 weeks old, before blossoms. In the long run they produce more tomatoes.

    Reply

  2. Very interesting! I had already made myself a note to adjust when I start my seeds next year. You’ve just reinforced that idea!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

