Garden flood today

Today while I was at work it rained a lot.  Actually quite a lot.  The creek overflowed its 4 foot banks and rose up 25 feet inside my fence (probably an additional 2 feet in water height).

Everything loose in the bottom half of the yard was washed over to the west side of the fence.  If it were not for the fence, I would have had a lot less to clean up here, but S. would have lost his favorite boots that he wears during all 4 seasons ala Napoleon Dynamite.

Grass layed down

The soccer net caught some gunk for me!  Thanks, soccer net!  GOAL!!!!!!!!

The flood waters rose right on up over my lowest two “raised” beds.  Next year I’ll add an additonal 12 inches to the 6 inch height I built this year.  That means I get to order and move dirt again!  Yee-HAW!

Small broccoli bent over, covered with debris.

Iceberg lettuce full of mud.

Corn lying down on the job.

Carrot patch almost ruined.

4 responses to this post.

  1. Those poor vegetables!!

    Reply

  2. […] It flooded again! Raise the beds! Reference : http://jimmycrackedcorn.wordpress.com/2008/06/04/garden-flood-today/ […]

    Reply

  3. I can’t believe nobody commented on my ‘GOAL!’ joke. :D

    Reply

  4. […] to raise the vegetable beds to these depths was the creek that runs behind my property.  Last year the creed flooded several times and ruined some of the garden.  I raised the lowest lying bed to a height of 18 inches.  The next one up is now 14 inches high […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

