Radish harvest, green tomatoes, baby broccoli

I harvested these radishes tonight…the first time I’ve done enough “picking” in one night this year to use the word “harvest.”  Interesting how they can vary so much in size.  These were picked from a 2 square foot patch that I planted together with carrots.  I left almost as many radishes in the ground as I picked…the others didn’t seem ready yet.

There are baby green tomatoes (between the size of a pea and a marble) on my Gardener’s Delight cherry tomato and my Cold Set tomato.  There are flowers on the Rutgers and Super Marmande as well.  Very promising!

This little broccoli flower is only a little over an inch in diameter.  I’m hoping it grows up big and tasty along with all it’s friends.

13 responses to this post.

  1. mmmm… Broccoli!!

    Reply

  2. Chopping Broccoli!!

    Reply

  3. I’m having second thoughts about using the apostrophe in the broccoli’s possession of it’s friends. Does one possess their friends? Friends are definitely an asset. Do vegetables have friends, peers, associates? It’s getting too late to think this through.

    Reply

  4. Radish, tomato, and broccoli? (OH MY!) I’m seriously a little jealous :)

    Reply

  5. Posted by vvvqv1 on May 21, 2008 at 5:12 pm

    Your pictures are great! Wonderful harvest of radishes where you are too! Do you sow in blocks or rows?

    Reply

  6. These 2 square feet were scattered with radish and carrot seeds quickly…no rows. I used a few more seeds than I had to, but I probably only ended up thinning radishes by 20% or so, if that.

    Reply

  7. Hi, i am growing broccoli for the first time and cabbage and I’m finding these horrible little green worms on them. I am trying soap spray, do you have any tips? Yours looks awesome! i hope my little plants make it to making broccoli.

    and now checking out the rest of your blog. Love the pics!

    Reply

  8. Hi Vickie! The broccoli is first time beginner’s luck…or just too early for worms yet. Now watch…I’ll see them tomorrow. If/when I do find them, I”ll be researching that same question myself. Please blog your solution!

    Reply

  9. Posted by look4amerika on May 23, 2008 at 5:19 pm

    What beautiful radishes! You had a 2 square foot patch with carrots as well? That’s a pretty effective use of space.

    Reply

  10. Yep. The carrot seeds germinate VERY slowly, taking as long as 3 weeks to even come up. By then the 30 day radishes have big enough leaves to shade the carrot seedlings and encourage them to grow slowly while the radishes finish up. After enough radishes are harvested to let the light in, the carrots need several more weeks to finish growing. I can’t say for certain that my methodology is going to work because I haven’t pulled a finished carrot yet this year. I’ll see!

    Reply

  11. Posted by Shae on May 23, 2008 at 5:50 pm

    I’ve never gotten into radishes, but that’s a nice bunch. :D

    Reply

  12. Posted by Prof. Jerry on August 20, 2008 at 9:31 pm

    Just to answer your question, “it” is different. The ONLY time you use an apostrophe is for the contraction “it is.” Otherwise, its “its!”

    Reply

  13. That is quite confusing. To show possession using other words, I add an apostrophe. Joan’s Jet, my car’s wheels…so why is the correct way ‘its friends?’

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

