Worms do it

I went out last night after dark with a flashlight into a slowly drizzling rain to see how the garden was feeling.

Broccoli, cauliflower and lettuces looking OK.

Radishes, carrots, cabbage looking OK.

But why do I keep seeing weird rapid movements out of the corner of my eye?

I shone my flashlight around to investigate and discovered that the garden beds were full of huge earthworms, hanging out 12 inches from their holes.  When I spooked them, they could dash back from whence they came about 5 times faster than a human could slurp up a piece of spaghetti.  My goodness they are QUICK!

Then I realized that my garden beds were now a singles bar for worms.

All is well!  If the worms are happy enough to breed in my dirt, it can’t be that bad a place!

9 responses to this post.

  1. I’ve never seen worm sex before.

    Could have probably done without, but, whatever :)

    Your garden looks like it’s doing fabulously. I live in the Midwest where we were getting SNOW still four weeks ago, so I’ve only had seeds in the ground for a week.

    Reply

  2. I’m in west central Illinois, so definitely midwest too. Many things you see in this post were started indoors in March.

    Reply

  3. I wish I’d had space to start more inside. As it stands I’ve got some herbs and tomatoes and peppers, and I’m waiting for everything else. At least I’ll be having fresh salsa soon!

    Reply

  4. LOL!!! We planted our window boxes Sunday. Once I’m inspired, I’ll write up about it.

    Reply

  5. I live in the Usa city in Japan. I saw for the first time of such an earthworm. I am making the soil on which a lot of earthworms live. Please look at my blog. http://iyasaka.blogspot.com/

    Reply

  6. Posted by Shae on May 10, 2008 at 12:40 pm

    AHAHA! That’s great. I’m glad your plants are fairing well so far.

    Reply

  7. That is very cool. I keep finding some worms in my garden. Perhaps I will peek at them this evening to see if there is any wormy loving happening.

    Unfortunately, this afternoon I found TERMITES in my garden. I am preaching abstinence to the little termites.

    Reply

  8. HAHAHAHAHAHA!!!! Human worms jimmy Cracked corn

    Reply

  9. My search terms aren’t NEARLY as fun as yours are!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

